Spirited Away Movie Review

Spirited Away is a Japanese animated-fantasy film made by the company Studio Ghibli. It was the third Studio Ghibli film I’ve watched (followed by My Neighbour Totoro and Ponyo) but the first one I’d watched properly in an environment without interruption. From what I’d heart of it, I expected great things. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

Spirited Away was directed and written by Hayoa Miyazaki who has recently retired. This was one of the reasons I decided to watch this film. It was produced by Toshio Suzuki. I watched the English dubbed version which was voiced by Daveigh Chase (Chihiro Ogino), Jason Marsden (Haru) and Suzanne Pleshette (Yubaba and Zenibi).

The film turned out to be somewhat different from what I expected. I expected it to be a simple and cute story without much depth to it, but I found that it was actually quite the opposite. The start of the anime I found to be pretty creepy to my surprise, but overall it was very heartwarming and sweet, as well as adventure-filled. It even made me cry.

The drawing style is pretty amazing. I mean, most of the time it’s pretty average and then suddenly you have this stunning piece of cinematography which is just beautiful.

And, of course, really cute too (you may be able to tell, I really like the soot balls).

The pacing of the film was perfect. I was never bored, and I never felt like things were moving too quickly. It always made me want to know what was going to happen next and I felt very emotionally attached to the characters and storyline. Despite this complexity, I also think the film could be enjoyed by children as well (but probably not too young) as well as adults.

The music I found to be really sweet and pretty, it fits the storyline very well. I barely noticed it was there. The score was written by Joe Hisaishi.

Favourite character: Chihiro Ogino

Least favourite character: Yubaba

Favourite scene: The train ride

Least favourite scene: When Chihiro’s parents turn into pigs

Rating; 5/5 stars

Picture Sources

All gifs: ghibl-gifs.tumblr.com (who you should check out because their blog is perfection)

One thought on “Spirited Away Movie Review

  1. Hayao Miyazaki is my favorite anime movie director; I’m glad you liked the film.

Leave a Reply

