The Host Movie Review

As far as the books goes, I liked The Host a lot more than the Twilight saga. It was because of that, that I expected this movie to be better than the Twilight films, and I wasn’t disappointed. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

The Host is a science-fiction film based on Stephenie Meyer’s novel, The Host. It was released in 2013 and was directed by Andrew Niccol, produced by Stephenie Meyer, Nick Wechsler, Steve Schwartz and Paula Mae Schwartz, with a screenplay by Andrew Niccol.

The acting in this movie was great, in fact there wasn’t a single actor in the movie that I could pick out as being bad. The main actors include Saoirse Ronan (Melanie Stryder/Wanderer), Jake Abel (Ian O’Shea), Max Irons (Jared Howe) and William Hurt (Jeb Stryder). They were just all incredible, even in scenes when the script was lacking they made it work. They made the movie far better than it would have been with a different cast.

The pacing of the movie was very slow a lot of the way through, and while I personally wasn’t actually bored during any part of the film, I would imagine that those who are into action flicks would be. The only reason I wasn’t bored was mainly because, at almost regular intervals, there were bursts of action and intensity between dialogue. Without these parts the film would have definitely dragged on. As far as the general story goes, I’d have to say it’s a chick flick with added sci-fi. Usually I’m not a huge fan of chick-flicks but the sci-fi kept me entertained, but it might not do so for everyone.

The thing that surprised me most about this film was the humour. While there wasn’t a lot of it, and it wasn’t obvious, it was there nevertheless. The reason it shocked me so much was because Meyer’s writing has literally zero humour in it. I thought the addition of it was an improvement on the book, even if it was a subtle one. It made the movie more entertaining in parts when it was looking a bit dull. Although, the style of humour was fairly subtle and might not be funny to some.

As far as it goes compared to the book, as in most cases, the book was better. I could understand why some things were left out of the movie (because they would take up too much time or would just involve long parts of just people talking) but there were some other parts that I think could have really been added to the film without taking up too much time. Like mentioning the fact that Wanda is technically female (which was a fairly important part of the plot), or that there is even more hope in the end than was shown because of the fact that ‘souls’ who had human children wouldn’t let their child become a host. These little things would have really added more for people who hadn’t read the book, and would be a great addition to those who had.

The special effects were pretty good, although they weren’t actually used very often except when showing ‘souls’ out of a body. In this respect I think they did really well, they looked almost exactly as they had been described in the novel and how I pictured them. It was perfect.

Favourite character/actor: Wanderer (Saoirse Ronan)

Least favourite character/actor: I honestly can’t pick one, they were all great

Favourite scene: The ending where they thought they were caught

Least favourite scene: Some of the scenes between Wanderer and Ian were a bit slow

Rating; 3.5/5 stars

Picture Sources

‘The Host’ poster: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Host_(2013_film)

2 thoughts on “The Host Movie Review

  1. beckyday6 says:

    I must admit I wasn’t expecting a lot from The Host because I wasn’t sure how they could handle a few of the things in the book so I was pleasantly surprised that I really enjoyed it! Saoirse Ronan is one of my favourite actresses which might have helped. 🙂

    Great review!

    • mandarox says:

      Yeah, I wasn’t really expecting much of it either but I HAD to see it because I liked the book so much and I wasn’t disappointed. I’ve never actually heard of Saoirse Ronan before, but I hope to see her in more films because she was pretty great 🙂

      Thanks

Leave a Reply

