Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog Web-Ministry Review

On my dash on Tumblr I kept seeing Neil Patrick Harris as Dr. Horrible wearing a lab-coat and steampunk goggles. At first I thought it was from an episode of How I Met Your Mother but then discovered it was actually a completely unrelated movie so I decided to give it a watch. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

Ok, first off, don’t get turned off by the title. It makes it sound really corny and cheesy when it actually isn’t. The background of the show is actually has a pretty interesting background. It was devised by Joss Whedon and was designed to be a completely free show spread only by the internet. It was written during the time of the 2007-2008 writers strike to circumvent the issues being protested.

It was created and written by Joss Whedon, Zack Whedon, Maurissa Tanchareon and Jed Whedon, directed by Joss Whedon and produced by David M. Burns, Michael Boretz and Joss Whedon. It stars Neil Patrick Harris (Dr. Horrible / Billy), Nathan Fillion (Captain Hammer), Felicia Day (Penny) and Simon Helberg (Moist). Here’s the video for it:

Anyway, I think it’s absolutely brilliant. I mean it’s got a limited (but great) cast, and a limited budget and yet it manages to be funny, emotional and entertaining. The acting in it is great, and how could it not be with the cast? I feel like all of them pull of their respective characters perfectly.

The actual storyline is a bit predictable most of the way through. I tended to has some idea of what was going to happen while watching it. Saying this, however, when things did happen it still had just as big an impact as it was supposed to. It’s a tragicomedy, and I didn’t expect that at all. I just thought it would be a simple and funny comedy, but I was greatly surprised. The ending shocked and I loved it. Unexpected feels are the best 😛

The music and songs is a really big part of this show. As far as the singing goes, it’s pretty good. Not always stage musical standard, but good. I was really impressed that the actors could song at all because I had no idea they could. I love all of the harmonies in the songs with multiple people singing. All the songs are also really catchy.

My main problem with the songs is the way in which they end. In the show it’s not really that noticeable and doesn’t really matter, but when listening to the songs alone most of them end on a note that make its seem like the song should continue. This my just be my OCD though.

Favourite character/actor: Dr. Horrible/Billy (Neil Patrick Harris)

Least favourite character/actor: Captain Hammer (Nathan Fillion)

Favourite scene: The final song

Least favourite scene: When everyone’s getting ready to unveil the new homeless shelter

Leave a Reply

