Top 10 Epic Soundtracks

Hello, all! Another music post, but this time I will show you my top ten epic soundtracks. I originally named this post “Top 10 Epic Songs” but there was no way I could pick just one song from each movie/TV show. Generally, if one song from the soundtrack is epic, others will be as well. However, I still have to limit myself to one song for an example. You might be wondering why movies like Jaws aren’t on this list, and it’s mainly because they aren’t in my music library. Hopefully, these songs will make any activity feel epic! So, here’s the list of most epic soundtracks, in no particular order, from my music library.

Inception

This one is a pretty obvious choice, and I don’t think anyone could deny that the soundtrack for this movie is a pretty epic one. It was written by Hans Zimmer and I was spoiled for choice when it came to choosing which song I was going to use as an example. I finally decided on Dream is Collapsing:

Avatar: The Last Airbender

It may be just a children’s show, but this soundtrack packs a punch. It’s different from most other soundtracks I know of because it mixes both Eastern and Western influences into its music. Perfectly, I might add. The music is written by The Track Team and the example I will show you is The Final Blow.

Batman Begins

Often overshadowed by its sequel The Dark Knight, this movie has some pretty epic music. The score was composed by Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard. The song I will use as an example of this soundtrack is Antrozous:

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

This film isn’t really that well known for it’s music, but I really like it. It has some pretty epic music in the battle scenes (including the song I will show you called The Battle). The sequels also have some pretty good music. It was composed by Henry Gregson-Williams, a relatively unknown composer who also wrote the score for Chicken Run, Shrek and Wolverine.

Doctor Who

Well, you all know how obsessed I am with this show (or at least I hope you do) so I had to put this on the this. The music for Doctor Who is written by Murray Gold. I love this music because it’s so different, especially the song I am the Doctor. I can’t put my finger on it, but there’s just something unique about it. I’m kind of going to cheat with this one and show you two songs; I am the Doctor and Captain Jack’s Theme, but the latter is also from Torchwood so… I’m so not cheating 😛

Pirates of the Caribbean

I would have to be crazy to leave this soundtrack off the list. I don’t think there’s a single person who doesn’t love it. The music (from the first film at least) is by Klaus Badelt. The example I will give you well known song He’s a Pirate:

Lord of the Rings / The Hobbit

These films (and I’m sure the ones to follow) have some incredibly epic soundtracks. The soundtracks were both composed by Howard Shore and the music I will present to you is a medley of a whole bunch of songs including Concerning HobbitsMisty Mountains and The Ring’s Theme:

How to Train Your Dragon

This is an amazing movie that has an amazing soundtrack to go with it. I think some of the scenes in this film were made by the music. It’s just brilliant. It was composed by John Powell and I song I will give as an example is Test Drive:

Prince of Egypt

To be fair, I’ve never actually seen this movie and I only really know one song well (although I did listen to some of the others to make sure they were sufficently epic enough to go on this list). My favourite songs is When You Believe (specifically not the Mariah Carey version). It’s yet another song composed by the great Hans Zimmer. This version is sung by Michelle Pfeiffer and Sally Dworsky:

X-Men: First Class

This film, I find, has much better music than its predecessors. This might be one of the reasons why I hold it in such high regard. The soundtrack was written by Henry Jackman who also composed the music for Wreck-it-Ralph. The song I present to you is Magneto’s Theme, it doesn’t really start getting epic so I suggest you listen to the whole thing:

Well, there you have it. Some of the most epic soundtracks I could think of. What did you think of my list? Did I miss any of your favourites?

PS: Sincerest apologies for not posting anything for almost two weeks! I just haven’t been in the writing mood at all and even struggled to type out this list (which is why there isn’t much of a description). Hopefully I’ll get back into my writing groove soon enough 🙂

8 thoughts on “Top 10 Epic Soundtracks

  1. beckyday6 says:

    Good choices! I especially love the Prince of Egypt one, it’s always been one of my fave’s, and of course, The Hobbit. 😉

  2. Elaine says:

    Great list! I love I am the Doctor! I get goosebumps whenever I hear it.

  3. Kelly says:

    I LOVE the soundtracks for Avatar: The Last Airbender, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Lord of the Rings / The Hobbit. Very epic!

  4. I totally agree with the you in regards to the Lord of the Rings; that was an excellent soundtrack. I realise you mentioned that some films are not quite as well known for their soundtracks as others, but I especially find this is true for video games. I know that games in general are often seen as shoot ’em ups, but the classical musical scores I often believe are very powerful.
    Oh, and this is completely unrelated; I nominated you for the ABC award! Congratulations! http://wp.me/p2tQ7q-5Z

    • mandarox says:

      Oh, thank you so much for the award! Yeah, I actually listen to a lot of game soundtracks including Halo (which would have been on this list if it wasn’t strictly TV and movie soundtracks), Assassins Creed, Team Fortress 2 and Battlefield. I agree that they’re often highly underrated because people don’t really think about them. They are really important for setting the scene, especially because there aren’t any actors to do it for them and it’s literally you walking into a new area (well, some of the time). Thanks again for the award 😀

Leave a Reply

