Top 10 Songs That Make Me Cry

I really enjoy listening to music but unfortunately, because of the style of music that I listen to, it’s difficult to review it. Therefore, I have come up with the idea to create a series of the top 10 songs that I listen to, to fit into a category. This category is for the top 10 songs that have made me cry. Not just out of sadness, either, but out of happiness as well. A lot of them are from TV shows or movies so they may only make me feel the way they do because of the context I know them from. However, I hope you guys love them as much as I do. These songs are in no particular order. The top 10 songs that make me cry. Warning that this post contains spoilers about Doctor Who, The Lord of the Rings, Sherlock, the musical Wicked and Avatar: The Last Airbender (however none of the actual songs do).

Doomsday
This song from Doctor Who (and written by Murray Gold)plays over one of the best separation scenes ever; the separation of the Doctor and Rose. I was bawling my eyes out, it was horrible, and I relive that moment whenever I listen to this song. I love how affected I am by it, it just shows how good it is. In addition, the song itself is just gorgeous. The use of voice, without using actual words, is amazing and just makes it more emotive. It just sounds so sad, almost like the singer is letting out their grief by singing a wordless song.

 

Moonlight Sonata
This is one of those beautiful classic pieces of music that can portray emotion without a single word. I have found myself unknowingly listening to this song and just subconsciously feeling sad for no reason. The way Moonlight Sonata does this is just incredible. Written by Beethoven, it is one of the top classical songs. No story is needed to feel this song.

 

Edge of Night
The songs of hobbits are usually happy, cheerful and full of life, but this one (sung by Billy Boyd) is the exact opposite. It’s short with very few lyrics:

Home is behind, the world ahead, but there are many paths to tread. Through shadow, to the edge if night, until the stars are all alight. Mist and shadow, cloud and shade. All shall fade, all shall fade.

It’s short and sweet, or a better description, short and sad. It is sung to the greedy and vindictive steward of Gondor who had sent an army of men to an impossible battle where they will all surely die.

 

Vale Decem
Another song from Doctor Who (and written by Murray Gold), played during another incredible sad scene in the show. The title, and all of the lyrics are in Latin, with vale decem meaning ‘farewell ten’. That’s what this song is about, a farewell. The farewell of the tenth Doctor as he regenerated. I thought I was ready for this moment, but this song made sure that I wasn’t. The lyrics, and translation to the song:

Vale Decem (Farewell Ten)
Ad aeternam (On to eternity)
Di meliora (The fates be with you)
Ad aeternam (On to eternity)
Vale Decem (Farewell Ten)
Di meliora (The fates be with you)
Beati (Oh, blessed be he)
Pacifici (Who brought us peace)
Vale Decem (Farewell Ten)
Alis grave (Lay down your burden)
Ad perpetuam memoriam (We will remember you forever more)
Vale Decem (Farewell Ten)
Gratis tibi ago (We give you thanks)
Ad aeternam (On to eternity)
Nunquam singularis (You are not alone)
Nunquam (Never)
Dum spiro fido (Trust to the last)
Vale… (Farewell…)

 

Blood on the Pavement
This is one of the final songs in the season two final of Sherlock, and for anyone who’s seen the show, they’ll know how important it is for setting the scene. It has the slowed down main theme, that’s usually so upbeat, being brought to almost a halt. It really shows the reaction of John Watson to the events that are occurring before him, and what he is feeling. In the case of this song, it is absolute grief.

 

Married Life
Anyone who has seen that classic Pixar film Up would know the brilliance of that wonderful love story that lasted a lifetime in just a few minutes. This song shows the same things, you can feel the good times and the bad times of their story, with all of the ups and downs. The ending of which was just heartbreaking.

 

Reconciliation
This song from Avatar: The Last Airbender is about exactly what the title says. The reconciliation of Zuko and Uncle Iroh. Although not in the song, the lines that are said during that part are just so heartwarming. The first song in this list which causes happy crying, this time for a moment that was meant to happen for so long. This song just brings it all back.

 

Stuff We Did
The second time I cried during the film Up, and probably the saddest song of the film. And yet also one of the happiest…

 

For Good
Another separation song, but this time the separation of two best friends Galinda and Elphaba from the musical Wicked. I think it sums up most good friendships. These are two of my favourite lines from the song:

And just to clear the air, I ask forgiveness for the things I’ve done you’ve blamed me for. But then I guess we know there’s blame to share and none of it seems to matter any more.

Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better? I do believe I have been changed for the better.

 

Firework
Lastly, Firework , sung by Katy Perry. It alsi doesn’t make me cry out of sadness, but rather if happiness. It’s just so inspirational. For once a song isn’t about lost love of complaining about life, but showing how good it can be and how special each person is.

 

I hope you guys liked my list. What songs make you cry?

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Songs That Make Me Cry

  1. beckyday6 says:

    Love Pippin’s song! The Wicked one is pretty good too. Demi Lovato’s Skyscraper is a song that’s always really resonated with me, I identify with it a lot. It makes me feel sa and tearly, and yet hopeful and positive at the same time.

    Some good choices! 🙂

  2. pigeon1994 says:

    Married Life would be in my top ten. Pixar composers tend to be the best.

Leave a Reply

