X-Men Movie Review

This was a film that I wasn’t very interested in when my dad first showed me, but I eventually gave in and decided to watch it. I’m so glad I did because the X-Men may be some of my favourite superheros. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

X-Men was released in 2000, directed by Bryan Singer, with a screenplay by David Hayter and based on characters created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby.

I’d never read any X-Men comics and I didn’t really know who the X-Men were or what they could do. Te ideas in the film were completely foreign to me. Despite this, I felt the film explained it very well, feeding in bits of information here and there to give the full picture of what a mutant is and what the current political atmosphere was surrounding them at the time. I usually worry about not knowing the full story when watching a movie that’s based on a book or comic that I haven’t read, but it was unnecessary for this film.

There are loads and loads of scientific inaccuracies which I know shouldn’t bug me, but sometimes it does. I know it’s a fictional story but as a biology nerd I can’t help but want to correct the movie on the science that they got wrong. The upside of these inaccuracies is that most of them are based somewhat on truth which can make the viewer think that these kinds of mutations could actually occur and makes the movie seem more realistic and awesome. I really like the kinds of stories that could occur in the real world. The idea that there’s something else there. I’m rambled on about this plenty in other reviews so I’ll leave it at that. The important thing about this, however, is that although it helps sometimes an idea isn’t everything. I’ve seen several films with great ideas that are terrible movies. But with this one, it works.

The storyline is fast-paced and doesn’t have a boring part in it. It always keeps you on edge, and makes you want to keep watching to see what happens next. I especially like all of the little hints that we are given throughout the story that works its way into a a fully explained conclusion at the end.

One of my favourite things about X-Men is finding out about all of the different mutations. I love seeing all the different powers that people have, especially when I have never seen any of them before. In this film only a few were shown but hopefully, in the following films, more will be presented.

The bad guy, Magneto, seems a bit cliche at first, but as the movie progresses so does he. We are shown that he is more complex than he appears. A deep and complex ‘bad guy’ tends to make the storyline a better one. In X-Men this kind of works, except Magneto’s complex background isn’t mentioned and used as much as I think it could have been. This would have helped to improve the film’s depth.

The music is average. It’s not brilliant but it’s not bad either. It does what it’s meant to but not any more. I usually like the music in superhero movies so this disappointed me a bit.

Favourite character/actor: Wolverine (Hugh Jackman)

Least favourite character/actor: Toad (Ray Park)

Favourite scene: When Wolverine and Rogue first meet the X-Men

Least favourite scene: When Mystique (in disguise) tells Rogue that she should leave

Rating; 4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “X-Men Movie Review

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Good review. My problem with this movie was that it seemed like there was way too many characters for this movie to juggle around, but they still kept it interesting and entertaining to watch. The sequel was definitely a lot better and one of my favorite superhero movies.

Leave a Reply

