Vampire Diaries (Season 1) TV Show Review

I watched this show when it first came out but due to the late time it was on and the malfunctioning of my set-top box, I stopped watching it sometime during season 2. Recently, I thought I should revisit the series. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

The Vampire Diaries TV show was developed by Kevin Wiliamson and released in 2009. I haven’t actually read The Vampire Diaries novels by L.J. Smith so I had no idea what was coming throughout most of the season. Some things I did guess, but they were generally only minor surprises for one episode, never major plot surprises. The fact that I haven’t read the novels also means that I don’t know how well the series events and characters compare to the books, so I can’t talk about that in this review.

The acting was all out well-performed with Nina Dobrev (Elena Gilbert), Ian Somerhalder (Damon Salvator), Steven McQueen (Jeremy Gilbert), Katerina Graham (Bonnie Bennett), Candice Accola (Caroline Forbes) and many others. The only actor who I don’t feel is sufficient is Paul Wesley who plays Stefan Salvatore. He just seems to have the same, brooding facial expression all the time which may be a part of his character, but I don’t like it.

I can honestly say that the season is completely different at the start than it is at the end. At the start, everything is subtle with relatively little occurring in each episode. It could be said as being a bit slow and some people would definitely say it is and may not watch the season because of it. However, the season then changes. It becomes a lot faster-paced with more happening in each episode and a lot more excitement and action. At first, I didn’t really like this. I like the constantly-on-edge feeling that comes with shows like Downton Abbey, but I adjusted to it.

The filming and directing is generally pretty good throughout the whole season. There is only one problem that I find with it; it’s too dark. Even in bright scenes I find it’s difficult to see the characters’ activities and emotions very well because they are constantly in the darkness. On the upside, later on in the season I tended to notice it less so they either lightened up the lens, or I just got used to it.

I probably wouldn’t recommend this series for guys. It’s very chick-flick. Mainly because it’s from the perspective of a girl and it just seems like the series is tailored for women. It’s not your action-packed, adventure vampire story, it’s more of a romance with a bit of action vampire story.

The cliffhanger at the end is just crazy. Even if you hated the series you’d have to watch the first episode of season 2 just to know what happens next. In fact, most episodes end on a crazy cliffhanger that makes you want to know more.

The music is a mixture between everyday pop music (generally in the restaurant and party scenes) and the music score by Michael Suby. The music tends to work well throughout the season in every situation, so I like it. It also really helps to make the show seem like it’s real to have ‘radio’ music playing at times.

Favourite character/actor: Damon Salvatore (Ian Somerhalder)

Least favourite character/actor: Stefan Salvatore (Paul Wesley)

Favourite episode: Children of the Damned 

Least favourite episode: Under Control

Rating; 3.5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “Vampire Diaries (Season 1) TV Show Review

  1. Maria :) says:

    Agreed, i really didn’t like the first few episodes cause it was so slow, i almost gave up. but it starts to get interesting as you move through the episodes.

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Woooo! Love this show, although it does tend to go around in circles a bit… but who can resist those cute Salvator brothers eh? Eh??

Leave a Reply

