Hunger Games Movie Review

Well, I finally got around to it. I finally watched the Hunger Games movie. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

It was directed by Gary Ross,  produced by Nina Jacobson and Jon Kilik, with a screenplay by Ross, Collins, and Billy Ray.

In a word; disappointing. Everyone I talked to said the movie was great, those who had read the books and those who hadn’t. But I thought the whole things was kind of… boring. It didn’t really capture my attention. Ok, I watched the film on my laptop with bad sounds and two talking friends next to me, but I really tried to focus on the film. But my attention kept wavering. Maybe it was because I already knew what was going to happen? All I know is that I wanted the movie to end.

Despite the lengthiness of the film, I don’t think they showed enough (ironically). I understand that it can’t be word-for-word but I was really looking forward to watching the re-cap movie of the games as Katniss and Peeta were being crowned.  And the way Katniss bashed on the glass trying to get to Peeta when they were removed from the arena.

Then there were the things that were just plain wrong. District 12 giving the salute? Madge not being the one to give Katniss the Mockingjay pin? Katniss going before Peeta when they’re been marked? The cornucopia being silver instead of gold? And numerous other tiny little mistakes that could have been easily fixed that just made me cringe.

I think the thing that made the film bad was the filming. It just didn’t work. I didn’t like it. It just didn’t seem like the story was focussed on Katniss. The book is entirely in her perspective and nobody else’s, but the movie it didn’t seem that way. It might have even been better if the entire Hunger Games was from the perspective of the viewing public, but half-and-half didn’t work.

However, there was one single scene that I thought was done perfectly… Rue’s death. It was so sad and beautiful, it really captured the essence of the horror of the Hunger Games; children die. Another good thing about the film was the amazing acting. Among my favourite actors in the film were Jennifer Lawrence (Katniss Everdeen), Josh Hutcherson (Peeta Mellark), Elizabeth Banks (Effie Trinket), Amandla Stenberg (Rue) and Jacqueline Emerson (Foxface). These actors really stopped the film from becoming a complete flop.

The music was written by James Newton Howard and it was terrible. I really did not like it at all. I think the bad music is one of the reasons why the film was not as good at it could be.

Favourite character/portrayal: Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Laurence)

Least favourite character/portrayal: Cato (Alexander Ludwig)

Favourite scene: Rue’s death

Least favourite scene: When some random gives Katniss the mockingjay pin

Rating; 2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

