How to Train Your Dragon Movie Review

I heard that this movie was pretty good and I watched it shortly after it came out. A couple of days ago it was on TV and I watched it again. This was when I decided that I should review it. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

This film is made by Dreamworks although I think it could be Pixar standard. The animation is amazing. It’s not designed to appear as though it’s almost real life, and yet you can really see the emotions shown on the characters’ faces, including the dragons’. This automatically places it about other children’s movies that seem to put little effort, if any, into the character expressions. Also it may not seem that important, it really is and How to Train Your Dragon does it well.

For a children’s film, the humour is pretty good. In fact, it’s one of the things that makes me like this film so much (as well as the epic dragons and accents). I tend to not like children’s humour much but this film uses sarcastic and witty humour which I really like.

There are, of course, the blatantly obvious moral themes that run through most children’s movies. Be true to yourself, respect others, it’s good to be different as well as some more subtle moral themes, don’t take everything at face value and listen to the opinions of others. The good thing about these
themes is that they aren’t shoved in your face. There is only one time when a lesson learned is actually spoken out loud and a joke is made shortly after to lighten the mood.

The only real downfall of the film was the constant soppy scenes in it. Some of these were ok because they were made funny by Hiccup’s sarcastic humour, but the majority seemed to take away from the real storyline and make me cringe. The upside of this is that I only really noticed it the second time I watched it.

The music is written by John Powell. I didn’t really notice it much while watching the film, maybe because I was so rapt up in the characters. So I decided to listen to it by itself. What I found is that it’s really sweet and just, beautiful. This is just one of the songs (which has the main theme in it) but I encourage you to listen to some others.

To be honest, I’m not too sure why I like this movie do much, I just do. It has that thing, that special spark, that all films need to turn them from a good film into a great one. Maybe it’s because you can get so easily attached to the characters, I don’t know. But I’ll sum it all up with two quotes; the first and last.

This is Berk. It’s twelve days north of Hopeless and a few degrees south of Freezing to Death. It’s located solidly on the Meridian of Misery. My village. In a word? Sturdy. It’s been here for seven generations, but every single building is new. We have fishing, hunting, and a charming view of the sunsets. The only problems are the pests. You see, most places have mice or mosquitoes… We have dragons!

This is Berk. It snows nine months of the year, and hails the other three. Any food that grows here is tough and tasteless. The people that grow here are even more so. The only upsides are the pets. While other places have ponies or, parrots… we have… dragons!

Favourite character: Toothless, he’s so adorable and awesome and cute and cool!

Least favourite character: The evil, giant dragon

Favourite scene: When Hiccup first touches Toothless

Least favourite scene: All of the sappy one-liners

Rating; 4/5 stars

5 thoughts on “How to Train Your Dragon Movie Review

  1. The only movie I’ve liked Jay Baruchel in
    I’m looking forward to the sequel/TV series

  2. beckyday6 says:

    I really loved this movie! I would give it a five stars. But then, I am a sucker for emotion driven films when they are done well. 😛

    • mandarox says:

      It was an emotional film done very well 🙂 I probably would have given it a higher rating if I didn’t watch it for the second time and see all those annoying parts 😛

Leave a Reply

