Iron Man Movie Review

To prepare to watch the highly rated film The Avengers (a little late, I know) I thought it would be a good idea to watch each of the films of the superheroes in the film first, so I can get the best effect when I eventually watch it. The first of these, was Iron Man. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

I have to say, it’s a pretty good film. Before I watched it, I knew very little about Iron Man. All I knew was that he was a genius who, like Batman, had no actual superpowers. I was pleased to see then, that the film started from the very beginning of Tony Stark’s (Robert Downey Jr.) story and gave us the backstory of his father’s success. Coming into a superhero film, I have very high expectations. I have yet to see a superhero movie that would be considered bad and am glad to say that Iron Man continued this perfect record.

It fulfilled many of my expectations. It didn’t have any boring parts and kept me enthralled the entire time. In addition, the romance, while inevitable, was kept to a minimum which was good. The film is supposed to be an action movie, not a romance, and it didn’t disappoint. Also, the scenes of Stark’s self-discovery were accompanied by humour, action and plot twists, which meant that they were all interesting.

I have to commend Downey’s performance. It really made me think that the character of Tony Stark was, well, cool. I was actually on his side when he was arguing that his company was doing the right thing, despite the fact that I disagreed with him. It also meant that I empathised with him through the whole movie which is an important part of wanting to enjoy a film.

One of the downfalls of the movie was that some parts were kind of predictable. I knew that somehow the bad guys would get their hands on the suit that Stark originally created and that a romance would bloom between Stark and his personal assistant, Pepper Potts.

The music in superhero movies is generally pretty good, and while the Iron Man score was good, it wasn’t brilliant. It was just a little bit better than average but just didn’t have that special ‘thing’ that makes a score amazing.

Favourite character: Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.)

Least favourite character: Obadiah Stane (Jeff Bridges)

Favourite scene: When Stark goes to Yinsen’s Afghanistan village

Least favourite scene: When Stark and Potts are talking on the balcony

Rating; 4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Iron Man Movie Review

  1. beckyday6 says:

    I remember really liking this film when I first saw it, but then, it has Robert Downey Jr in it. Nuff said! 😛
    I haven’t seen the Avengers yet, will be interested to see what you think of it.

    • mandarox says:

      It’s one of the first Robert Downy Jr. movies I’ve seen and I was impressed (far more so than in Sherlock Holmes). It’ll be a while until I see The Avengers, but until then, superhero movies all the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

