BBC Sherlock (Season 2) TV Show Review

Coming up to this season I was really worried. The first season was so short that I didn’t know if it was just luck that it was good. Would this season turn out to be better or worse? It turned out that I had nothing to worry about. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

I think I’m beginning to see a pattern with this series. The first episode of each season eases people back into the show, nothing too intense but a good story. The second episode is generally the worst of the season, it doesn’t have much to do with the overall story and is just there. The third episode is epic and stressful and awesome, ending on a massive cliffhanger. Time will tell if the following seasons will be like this as well.

This season was the one that was based on the three most popular of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes stories; A Scandal in Bohemia, The Hound of the Baskervilles and The Final Problem.

The first episode was pretty good. Despite the large level of nudity (not that anything is actually shown) it’s still rather tactful and these scenes are not the most… Awkward for John. The episode introduced a new character, Irene Addler (Lara Pulver), who is played very well. I admire Pulver’s acting skills in this role. The ending of the episode is very touching, it is one of the first inkling we get that Sherlock (played once again by Benedict Cumberbatch) actually cares. Another moment when Sherlock’s caring nature is shown is when we see his reaction to Mrs Hudson (Una Stubbs) being hurt. It actually made me scared! One thing that did annoy was the way that the strokes of the violin didn’t match up with the sound of it; I just close my eyes in these parts. The overall genre of this episode, surprisingly for a Sherlock Holmes story, is romance.

The second episode has the genre of horror, but it didn’t really scare me that much. It was very interesting how they made this story modern and I think it was very well done. There was another new, one-episode character in this episode called Henry Knight played by Russell Tovey. Unlike Pulver’s character, Tovey’s just wasn’t as engaging. I felt little pity for him and didn’t think his acting was as good as it could have been. The best part of this episode was probably the ending with Mycroft that continues on with the backstory with Moriarty, but the episode had lots of really awesome small moments in it. It’s these moments that makes me enjoy this episode.

I loved episode three. It had me on edge the entire time. I was constantly feeling worried, angry, surprised and sad as I watched it. It was so amazing that I can barely describe it. I have to commend Martin Freeman for his role of John Watson in this episode. The amount of emotion he showed brought be to tears. There are so many hints and clues in this episode, you can tell that it’s leading up to something. It builds up to massive climax which doesn’t disappoint.

The music, oh, the music! It was amazing. While re-watching the episodes and thinking about which scenes were my favourite, I realised that it was the music that made them. They all had that music that had a fast undercurrent with a slow and strong melody. It sends shivers down my spine. Of course this music wouldn’t be as good is the theme song of Sherlock hadn’t been brought in during season 1. Here’s one of those incredible songs composed by David Arnold and Michael Price:

Favourite character/portrayal: Sherlock Holmes/Benedict Cumberbatch

Least favourite character/portrayal: Henry Knight/Russell Tovey

Favourite scene: When Moriarty is telling Sherlock the story about the knight and when John is in the graveyard.

Least favourite scene: When Henry is reminiscing the past

Rating; 5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

