Brave Movie Review

I thought that I should actually review something that is relevant now so I decided to review the movie Brave. I recently saw Brave with three good friends of mine for a friend’s birthday. I just have to say that I adore Pixar films so I went into the theatre with high hopes and expectations. Warning that this post may contain spoilers.

The film was released this year, 2012 and was written by Mark Andrews, Steve Purcell, Brenda Chapman and Irene Mecchi, directed by Andrews and Chapman and co-directed by Purcell.

At first it started off being very cliché and predictable. The daughter who doesn’t want to do what her parents want her to do and goes on a journey of self-discovery blah blah blah… About two-thirds of the way into the movie it seemed as though it was going to end but that was when it changed. It turned out that what you expected to happen did not and that your predictions turned out to be completely wrong. In the end, like most Pixar films, it managed to bring tears to my eyes.

Even in the parts that appeared to be very predictable there were some scenes that were very funny and one particular scene that had me terrified. The trailers don’t really do the film justice as they barely even touch on the storyline or what the film is actually about. The movie is generally a lot darker than previous Pixar films.

The fact that all the characters in the film had Scottish accents were awesome. The main character, Merida, was also very relatable and I liked her as a character a lot. She has been called Pixar’s first heroine and one of the first heroic Disney princesses.

The animation is amazing and you can see that they’ve gone to great lengths to capture the Scottish countryside. The music (composed by Patrick Doyle) also fits in with the film very well, mainly because it sounds Scottish but also because it’s very heartwarming, with some songs good enough to stand alongside classics like You’ve Got a Friend in Me. This is one of them:

Brave is not my favourite Pixar film, nor is it my least favourite. But saying this, all Pixar movies are above average and this one was way above that.

Favourite character: Princess Merida

Least favourite character: Lord Dingwall’s son

Favourite scene: It’s so hard to choose so probably the cave scene when Mor’du comes up behind her (it sent chills down my spine)

Least favourite scene: When Elinor throws Merida’s bow into the fire

Rating; 4/5 stars

4 thoughts on “Brave Movie Review

  1. r361n4 says:

    Good review, which one is Dingwall again? All I know is the voice actor was the guy who played Hagrid (the things being an IMDb nerd will do for you, lol)

    I’d probably my favorite scene was when she blocked Fergus’ sword in the climactic scene, definitely got a “Merida’s a badass” vibe from that moment

    Anyways Here’s my review in case you’re interested, cheers
    http://rorschachreviews.com/2012/06/25/brave-review/

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Ohhh I love that song, it’s great! And there’s so much emotion in it.

    Great review, I’ve never actually been that keen on Pixar I have to admit, but this one looks awesome, you’ve got me intrigued.

Leave a Reply

