Twilight Saga Book Review

Before I start this review I would like to say I am neither a Twihard or a Twihater although over the years I have acted like both. So, if you’re looking for a blog that says Twilight is perfect or the worst series ever, stop reading now. Every series has a strong point and a weak point. Warning that this post may contain some spoilers.

I first read Twilight in early 2008 (before the movies were released). It was one of the first books, and the first series, that started off my reading again after a long period of absence.

The first book, Twilight, I have to say was pretty good. I can be quite the romantic sometimes and this novel played straight into my weakness. I think one of the reasons why this series is so popular is because the main character, Bella, is so much of a Mary Sue type character. This means that readers can very easily visualise themselves as Bella, lest the appeal. I would have to say that this is one of the downfalls of the series. I like books with strong and deep characters and Bella just didn’t fit that template. Despite this, I just like the way that Stephanie Meyer has created her version of a vampire. They’re so… invincible and dangerous. Once again, the notion of the fact that there is something secretive and fanatical going on in our own world that we have no idea about, is brilliant. I love it. The whole novel is a page-turner that makes me want to keep reading. One of my favourite things about Meyer’s writing, are her prologues. These make you want to read the book to the end to know just what they are about.

New Moon was just not as good. The whole time Edward was absent I was bored, which was most of the novel. I guess you could say I’m more of a “team Edward” fan because I didn’t really enjoy the Jacob scenes. Bella’s depression was also rather mind-numbing. I was so relieved when Alice turned up and then finally, Edward. Despite this, Meyer partially redeems herself with the creation of the wolf shapeshifters (which are known through most of the series as werewolves).

Eclipse is one of my favourite books in the series (it is even with Twilight). It has a lot more action in it than the other two novels which I enjoyed. It also explains the past of some of the Cullens which is also something I liked about the novel. Finding out about the back-story of mysterious characters is one of the best parts about a story.

Breaking Dawn was my least favourite book in the series. In the part which was Jacob’s point of view, all I wanted to know was what Bella was thinking. The moment is went back to Bella’s point of view, I wanted it to be Jacob’s again. It was good to finally have the love-triangle fixed with the entrance of Renesmee and I love learning about all the different vampire abilities, however the whole novel was brought down by a terrible ending. A massive climax which was building up throughout the whole novel (arguably the whole series)… and then a completely flat and boringly-perfect outcome. Nothing ever ends that well.

I count The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner as a book in this series although I’m sure many people don’t. I think it’s a pretty good novella, especially compared to New Moon and Breaking Dawn. It had a lot of emotion in it compared to her other books. Meyer doesn’t like killing off likable characters. Period. But in this novella she had to, and I think she did it very well. I liked the sadness and sense of loss that the book gave the reader, if only the ending of Breaking Dawn had an element of this is it.

Favourite character: Alice Cullen or Emmett Cullen (I can’t decide!)

Least favourite character: Rosalie Hale

Favourite scene: Aro’s suprise at how Edward can resist killing Bella

Least favourite scene: The “oh-so-perfect” ending

Rating; 2.5/5 stars

5 thoughts on “Twilight Saga Book Review

  1. Alison D. says:

    Interesting review of the whole series. I think my ranking of the books matches yours exactly. As much as I liked the series, and have enjoyed the movies, I think it might have been better if Twilight was a stand alone book.

    • mandarox says:

      Interesting concept of Twilight being better as a stand-alone book, I’ve never thought about that before. I’m glad you found my review interesting, thanks for your comment ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. beckyday6 says:

    “I am neither a Twihard or a Twihater although over the years I have acted like both. So, if youโ€™re looking for a blog that says Twilight is perfect or the worst series ever, stop reading now.” – That’s exactly how I feel. ๐Ÿ™‚ A lot of people that read my blog hate Twilight, and another set of people that read it love it, so my views are always pretty controversial haha. But I tend to bounce from one to the other, some days I’ll be reasonably positive about it and other days I’ll be quite negative. It really depends on my mood! Either way, I think Meyer deserves some praise for creating a series that captured the attention of teens everywhere, people may think the books are terrible, but the sales figures show she must of done something right!

    I didn’t really get on with the novella, and Breaking Dawn was my favourite book, the complete opposite way round to you. Strange how people’s views differ! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

