Hunger Games Book Review

Hi all, this is my first ever blog post. Yay!

Just yesterday I finished reading The Hunger Games trilogy, by Suzanne Collins, which consists of Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay. Most of you have probably heard a lot of hype about Hunger Games with the new movie having just been released. I was planning to read the trilogy a while before talk of the movie had even begun but didn’t get around to it; the release of the movie stirred me into action as I definately wanted to read the books first. Warning that this may contain spoilers.

The first book was brilliant. I was kept constantly on edge. For those who don’t know, the Hunger Games trilogy is set in a postapocalyptic world in a country called Panem which occupies the area where the USA once was. Panem is made up of 12 districts and the Capitol. There was once a 13th district as well but it was destroyed in the last rebellion against the Capitol. As a reminder to the districts to not rebel, the Capitol holds an annual even called the hunger games. In this event, two teenagers (a girl and a boy) between the ages of 12 and 18 are chosen from each district to compete against each other to the death. 24 tributes go in and only one comes out.

The first book is told through the voice of 16-year-old Katniss Evergreen as she struggles through the hunger games. This book is so good that it rivals my favourite books such as Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. I love the whole idea of hunger games as it shows how cruel, ignorant and yet strong society can be. The second book, Catching Fire, is also very good but I felt that Collins didn’t play the relationship between Peeta and Katniss just right. The Quarter Quell was definitely a shocker, and though I would have liked to have seen Katniss training the future tributes, this outcome was just as exciting. Mockingjay would have to be my least favourite book of the trilogy, mainly because of the lack of emotion shown in some characters’ deaths. I was expecting the amount of detail shown by Rue’s death but found that in Mockingjay it was sorely lacking. I also found that the epilogue was too short and should have focussed more on how Katniss dealt with life after the revolution. This might just be me, though. I’m very picky when it comes to the way in which a series ends.

Despite this, I found it a very interesting and thought-provoking novel which hints at some of the bigger issues of our time; war, unequal quality of life and poverty. It was a page-turner with every chapter and book ending in a devastating and shocking cliffhanger that makes you want to keep reading. I definitely look forward to seeing the movie.

Favourite character: Cinna

Least favourite character: President Snow

Favourite moment: When Katniss covers Rue in flowers

Least favourite moment: When Katniss descends into madness in Mockingjay

I rate the trilogy; 3.5/5 stars

What did you think of the trilogy?

8 thoughts on “Hunger Games Book Review

  1. Gemma says:

    Oh yay!!! I’ve needed to rant to someone about this so badly! I hope you dont mind! 😀 I completely agree with you on this! The first book was absolutely fantastic, my favourite by far! The second was interesting, but as you said, the relationships of the book just didnt quite cut it, but my god, I hated the third one. Though her psychological state after the terrible things she saw was completely understandable, I felt like I was reading about a totally different character. The Katniss we had grown to love and admire for her strength, willpower and determination over the other two books was gone and an empty shell was left in her place. As I said, understandable, but I just wish their had at least been a bit of her original personality left in her, everything that made Katniss amazing was gone. The ending disappointed me so much, it was lack-lustre and ended too quickly. There was so many things I didnt like about it! Firstly, the fact Gale just disappears of the face of the planet. This was her best friend for years, they helped each other through some of the worst times of their lives, they helped each other survive, they loved each other (to some extent), and then he just buggers off at the end never to be seen again! I dont care that she didnt end up with him, but their friendship just ending like that annoyed me. Secondly, the fact that through the whole thing, Katniss is looked on as a hero, but how the book ended and after she kills Coin, she is no longer recognised for ANY of the good things she has done, but is just carted off back to District 12 and forever known as a crazy person. Finally, the fact that Prim dies. This whole thing started because she wanted Prim to live. Katniss entered the Hunger Games, went through unimaginable horrors, went through the Quarter Quell, and became the Mockingjay and the face of the rebellion, all because she loved Prim so much, and was willing to put herself in harms way so Prim could survive. The fact that the person who is the WHOLE REASON THIS WHOLE THING HAPPENED TO HER still ends up dying is upsetting, so after everything she has done, Prim still dies. It was just the way it was done too, as you said, the deaths didnt get much recognition, especially Prims! GAHLAUFHLIAUFHAAJKFHAKFJLB! Ah that feels good to finally get off my chest 😀

    • mandarox says:

      Nice rant 😛 I completely agree with what you said about Gale, I hated how he just disappeared but I think I might know why. It may have been the fact that Gale could have caused Prim’s death (with the whole bomb idea) that caused Katniss’ and Gale’s relationship to go askew. Thanks for your comment 🙂

    • beckyday6 says:

      Haha Gemma, that’s an impressive comment! I seem to be following your comments round the blogosphere at the moment! 🙂 It’s funny because, I loved Mockingjay for all the reasons that you hated it! Haha. Because it was the harsh reality of life and the social commentary of war was so realistic. There was no happy ending for Primm, friendships were destroyed and once strong people became weak shells of their original selves.
      Haha, very strange that! But as I’ve said before about the books, I also totally understand why people hate it for those reasons as well! 🙂

      • mandarox says:

        You can thank Gemma’s blog for leading me to your blog which then led you to mine! Amazing how the blog circle works 🙂

      • beckyday6 says:

        Haha ohh right! I must admit I was wondering if that was the case. The internet is so cool! 🙂

      • Gemma says:

        Haha hey lovely! 🙂 Hehe I spend far too much time on wordpress, there is so many good blogs and posts to read! 😀 I needed a bit of a rant to get it off my chest, as I had just finished reading it and smoke was coming out of my ears 🙂 Thats very true, when put in that aspect, it did have a very realistic ending 🙂 I’m just a big sap and like happy endings is all! 😀 Haha aw I’m glad I managed to connect you guys and both your wonderful blogs! 🙂

  2. […] been a year since I posted my first ever post Hunger Games Book Review and I feel like I’ve come so far from then. In the year I’ve posted 54 times. My aim […]

Leave a Reply

